22.01.10 Lv0008 John Kraus Cape Canaveral Prewdr Web 12
Photo: John Kraus / Astra

Download the media kit here

Launch Window

Astra has secured February 5-6, 2022 pending full FAA 450 license approval
1-4pm ET / 10am-1pm PT / 6pm-9pm UTC
Live stream begins at T-60 minutes or 9am PT / 12pm ET / 5pm UTC and can be viewed at astra.com/livestream.

Launch Site

Space Launch Complex 46 (SLC-46)
Cape Canaveral Space Force Station, Cape Canaveral, Florida

Target Orbit

Launch azimuth: 57 degrees
Orbital inclination: 41 degrees
Altitude: 500 kilometers

Payload

This mission includes 4 CubeSats for NASA developed by three universities and NASA’s John­son Space Center. The CubeSats, selected through NASA’s CubeSat Launch Initiative (CSLI), are fly­ing on the Educational Launch of Nanosatellites (ELaNa 41) mission.

Mission Overview and Objective

Our objective is to successfully launch and deploy the 4 spacecraft for NASA. This will be our first mission deploying satellites, our first launch for NASA, and our first launch from Cape Canaveral, Florida. You can read more at astra.com/newsroom.

The ELaNa 41 mission is part of NASA’s Venture Class Launch Services Demonstration 2 (VCLS Demo 2) contract under NASA’s Launch Services Program (LSP). Read and download NASA’s ELaNa 41 Mission fact sheet and learn more about the CubeSat teams flying on ELaNa 41 here.

Mission Timeline
(all times are approximate)

+0s Lift-off
+6s Begin Pitch Over
+1min 10s Max-Q
+2min 50s Main Engine Cut-off (MECO)
+2min 55s Fairing separation
+3min 00s Stage separation
+3min 05s Upper Stage ignition
+8min 30s Second Engine Cut-Off (SECO)
+8min 40s Payload Deployment

About Launch Vehicle 0008, Rocket 3.3

Astra has developed the world’s most responsive and affordable orbital launch system. Rocket 3.3 is an expendable, vertically-launched two stage LOX/kerosene rocket, designed to fit inside a standard shipping container and built to dramatically lower the cost of access to space. Eschewing labor-intensive processes such as carbon composite layups, Astra has focused on proven and cost-efficient metallic structures.

Rocket 3.3 consists of a first stage powered by five electric-pump-fed engines and an upper stage propelled by a single pressure-fed upper stage engine.

 

 

First Stage Upper Stage
Engine Qty 5 1
Thrust per Engine 6,500 lbf SL 740 lbf vacuum
Total Thrust 32,500 lbf SL 740 lbf vacuum
Propellant LOX / Kerosene LOX / Kerosene
Overall Length 43 feet
Diameter 52 inches